Last Friday, I was over the moon excited for those who were given equal rights. My 5 year old son asked me what I was so happy about. I told him what the Supreme Court was and the decision they made for the country.

I told him that men could now choose to have a partnership with other men and they would have the same rights as anyone else. I told him that sometimes, a man falls in love with another man, and sometimes a woman falls in love with another woman. They are happy.

He was completely blasĂ© about it. He said, “Oh.”

The reason for this is because he was never told what to believe about it, and if I have any say in it, he never will.

He can make his own decisions about how he wants to view the world. I will not force anything onto him. I will not make him feel guilty for who he is or what he believes.

