Yesterday was a great writing day. I got a couple reviews done, a blog post, and worked on my second novel some more. Days like yesterday are like the deepest, most refreshing breath of air. As the lungs shrink with the exhale of air, it seems as if a great weight has been released. But, it doesn’t take the weight long to come back. There is always something to write … always something to say. For me, the more I write, the more I have to write.

I’ve never experienced writer’s block, and I think I have said before that I don’t believe in it. Maybe it is true for others, but not for me. I could live five lifetimes and never get everything out. There is always a character in the back of my mind wanting their story told.

My second novel was in the range of 22,000 words in the first part. I have had to make some revisions, and when I got to about 15,000 words, my character decided that things would be different. I’m not sure if I will be able to use anything from 15,000 to 22,000 that I have already written, but we will see. At least those tidbits helped me discover who the characters are, and perhaps, who they are not. This is essential to the writing process.

When I began writing novel length works years ago, I got very attached to the work I did. I have since learned how important it is to chop. It doesn’t have to go away. I can easily save a new copy, but I am not going to sacrifice the work because of some weird attachment I have to writing that doesn’t work for the story.

Time to get back to work.

Write on.

