So, let me just clarify something first: If you don’t take the time to better your craft (writing, editing, or whatever you are freelancing) then it will be a tough road to find work. 

But, let me tell you something else. There is absolutely no shortage of work to be done. There are likely thousands of websites and blogs who are looking for writers, editors, site moderators, podcast developers… the list goes on and on. The trick it finding them…

So, with absolutely no experience freelancing, I started my journey a couple weeks ago.

With hours put into research, marketing, and branding myself, I found enough work to keep me very busy… so much so that I have to put a hold on other things for a while.

Here’s what I did.

1. I signed up for websites that send freelance jobs. Check out Sophie Lizard- Be a Freelance Blogger. Brian Scott- Freelance Writing Morning Coffee eNewsletter just for a start.

2. I started being very active on Twitter. I found like-minded people and pages that interest me, and I reached out to them. I always sent out a note “Thanks for following” “Check out my blog” stuff like that. I reach out to others in a such a way to offer them something, but not in a way that I am advertising so much.

3. I created a nice, professional looking header. I had a headshot that I took into photoshop to create a nice header. I use it for this blog as well, actually. After I posted that header to Twitter, I got about 50 new followers in a couple days. It might not seem like much, but for someone just starting, it’s a home run! If you need help creating a header, check this out: Dark Tower Design

4. I devote time each day to writing, editing, Twitter, LinkedIn, and e-mails.

5. LinkedIN has so many discussion boards. Get involved there! You will meet people who can help you out. Spend an hour in the discussions and see where it takes you. Ask questions, contribute, and give people a way to find you!

6. Once I researched pages, blogs, and companies that I would be a good fit for (culture-wise) I attempted to connect with them. I messaged them privately or went to the company website to drop a line. Polish an e-mail to send out, and always make it personal to that company. Nothing generic. Be sincere.

7. Have your resume and cover letter ready. A graphic resume is great! Dark Tower Design does that too! (And for a lot cheaper, I might add. You don’t have to spend an arm and a leg for nice graphics!)

So, that’s where I stand right now. Hard work. Determination. Organization. Passion. Those are the keys that have helped me find success… (not to mention hours of sitting at my Mac).

After I did these things, I was approached by 2 pages to write for them. I made connections with 2 other pages that I am currently editing and writing for, and I am still sending out resumes. Are you going to get paid in every instance? No. I’m not generating any income yet, but I am building my resume, gaining valuable experience, and making connections with great people! It’s a start to success, to be sure!

Write on!

