This morning, I was in my web developing class. In the dim light, we learned about sticky footers. For those of you who don’t know what a sticky footer is, it is just what it says. Instead of your footer floating under your last section or div, the footer “sticks” to the bottom of the page. Riveting stuff, I assure you. As time tends to do when having fun, it flew. Class ended, and my peers left.

I have been wanting to get my website built for a while now, my writer website. I’m working on marketing and branding myself for novel writing, blogging, and freelance. I put my two loves together and took on a double-major- Creative Writing and Digital Media and Design. I highly suggest an English degree to go along with any design degree or vice versa. Anyway, while I was doing some research, my professor sat down beside me to talk about his website and his blog. He does tutorials and links to his blog on his website.

“You need WordPress,” he said.

And with that, my blogger.com blog was looking kind of weak and feeble. If professionals are using WordPress, that’s where I need to be.

I finished up the first draft for the design of my website. I’ll post a screenshot so you can check it out. Leave comments, please! We can only improve by helping each other out, right?

I picked up my kids, made lunch, got school stuff ready for my preschooler, and took him to school. He is celebrating his birthday with his class today. His snack of choice: cheese sticks and pears. My daughter, nearly 2, always falls asleep in the car. My husband always brings her and lays her down. School time/nap time is Mommy Work time. My mission: Get a WordPress account going.

I checked out GoDaddy and HostGator. I need to buy my domain. Then, I came to WordPress for a free blog. I fill out the forms, and type in my screen name… amberrhiles… I am notified someone already has that screen name. Wha??? In all my years in the online world, I have never run into another Amber R. Hiles. I have googled Amber Hiles and found a risqué woman that is not myself, but never Amber R. I get a prompt to log in as amberrhiles. Well, OK.

I click Log In. I type in amberrhiles. I type in a password that I used years ago, and I’m logged in. Wha???

All this time, I have had a WordPress account. And, it is actually familiar. The name is something I would never forget… Those of Rose. Those of Rose is the name of one of my secrets in high school, namely a journal I kept. I filled it the poems and drawings, cut papers, and such.

After all these years, Those of Rose is still here. I completely forgot about it. It’s like rummaging through an old box in storage and coming across a gem from years ago… forgotten… a gem that brings up so many memories but stays hidden in the subconscious.

Well, I’m back. Those of Rose lives on…

Here is the first draft of the webpage I am working on. The image is from dreamstock. I am in love with the image, but I wanted to see how it looked in a draft on Photoshop before actually purchasing it. I will be purchasing this image. 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-11-05 at 1.26.45 PM

